Feb 16, 2020

07:30 PM

Voxman Music Building, Concert Hall

93 East Burlington Street, Iowa City, IA 52240

Save to My Events


La Terra Impareggiabileo for baritone and piano (2011) —Richard CAUSTON
     Book One
     I.    La terra Impareggiabile
     II.   E la tua veste è bianca
     III.  Ho una bella fanciulla
     IV.  Fatta buio ed altezza
     V.   Rifugio d’uccelli notturni
               John Muriello, baritone
               David Gompper, piano

MiraBai Songs (1982) — John HARBISON
     I.    It’s True, I Went to the Market
     II.   All I Was Doing Was Breathing
     III.  Why Mira Can’t Go Back to Her Old House
     IV.  Where Did You Go?
     V.   The Clouds
     VI. Don’t Go, Don’t Go
               Élise DesChamps, mezzo-soprano
               Alexis Letourneau, alto flute
               Ana Maria Locke, bass clarinet
               Pam Weest-Carrasco, harp
               Nick Miller, percussion
               Luciana Hontila, violin
               Donghee Han, viola
          Sarah Hansen, violoncello
          Will Yager, double bass
          David Gompper, conductor

Let Us Garlands Bring, Op. 18 (1942) — Gerald FINZI
     I.    Come away, come away, death
     II.  Who is Silvia?
     III. Fear no more the heat o’ the sun
     IV. O Mistress Mine
     V.  It was a lover and his lass
               Stephen Swanson, baritone
               David Gompper, piano

The Ultimate Poem is Abstract (2016, rev. 2017) — Kate SOPER
for soprano and chamber orchestra
Text by Wallace Stevens and others
               Anika O. Kildegaard, soprano
               Alexis Letourneau, flute
               Jenna Sehmann, oboe
               Ana Maria Locke, clarinet
               Sean Miller, tenor saxophone
               Irene Tang, horn
               Bria Powell, trumpet
               Tom Kelly, trombone
               Peter Naughton, percussion
               Sabrina Gafrick, percussion
               Nick Miller, percussion
               Karina Glasinovic, piano
               Luciana Hontila, violin I
               Joshua Palazzolo, violin II
               Donghee Han, viola
               Sarah Hansen, violoncello
               Will Yager, double bass
               David Gompper, conductor

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa–sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact in advance at