• Audiences
  • Interests

Carver College of Medicine Associated Medical Sciences Virtual Commencement Ceremony

Medicine Bachelor of Science Graduates Posing

Graduates from the following programs of study (majors) will be recognized:

  • Master of Clinical Anatomy
  • Master of Clinical Nutrition
  • Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Sciences
  • Bachelor of Science in Nuclear Medicine Technology
  • Bachelor of Science in Radiation Sciences

President Bruce Harreld and David Asprey, associate dean for medical education and professional programs, will deliver welcome messages to students, along with Executive Vice President and Provost Kevin Kregel and Sherry A. Bates of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa. The keynote speaker will be Colin Derdeyn, the Krabbenhoft Chair and professor and department executive officer of radiology, and professor of neurology. Sophie Banegas, of Norwalk, Iowa, graduate of the Master of Clinical Anatomy Program; Megan Anderson, of Eden Prairie, Minnesota, a graduate of the Master of Clinical Nutrition Program; and Elizabeth McElmeel, of Waterloo, Iowa, a graduate of the Radiation Sciences Bachelor of Science Program, will be the student speakers. Jillian York, senior radiation therapist in radiation oncology, will provide the charge to students. President Harreld will confer degrees.

Spring 2021 Order of Events

Spring 2021 commencement will be virtual, the ceremony will be livestreamed at the scheduled time. Degrees will be conferred and graduates who RSVP'd Yes will be individually recognized during the virtual commencement.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa–sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact in advance at

  • Audiences
  • Interests