UI Symphony and Concert Bands

Oct 10, 2019

07:30 PM

Voxman Music Building, Concert Hall

93 East Burlington Street, Iowa City, IA 52240

Save to My Events


Concert Band
Eric W. Bush, conductor
Tyler Strickland, guest conductor

     Through the Looking Glass (2012) — Jess Langston Turner (b. 1983)

     Nothing Gold Can Stay (2016) — Steven Bryant (b. 1972)

     Third Suite for Band (1981) — Alfred Reed (1921–2005)
          I.    Fanfare and Intrada
          II.   Pas de deux
          IV.  Danse Générale
     Tyler Strickland, guest conductor

     A Mother of a Revolution! (2019) — Omar Thomas (b. 1984)

     - Intermission -

Iowa Symphony Band
Richard Mark Heidel, conductor
Nicole Esposito, flute

     Rocky Point Holiday (1969) — Ron Nelson (b. 1929)

     The Shadow of Sirius (2009) — Joel Puckett (b. 1977)
          I.    The Nomad Flute
          II.   Eye of Shadow
          III.  Into the clouds
     Nicole Esposito, flute

     Vientos y Tangos (2004) — Michael Gandolfi (b. 1956)

     Symphony No. 1 – Finale (2010) — Vasily Kalinnikov (1866-1901) / arr. Glenn Cliffe Bainum / ed. Christopher Heidenreich



Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa–sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact in advance at