Johnson County Landmark

Oct 27, 2018

07:30 PM

Voxman Music Building, Concert Hall

93 East Burlington Street, Iowa City, IA 52240

Save to My Events

John Rapson directs big band Johnson County Landmark

Big band music, presented by the UI School of Music.

JCL Director John Rapson premieres his new nine-movement suite entitled "Unlikely Characters." Each movement is a portrait of a musician who has had some contact with jazz on the margins and generally not a household name. The accordion and the fiddle play prominent roles in each of their repertoires.


The nine movements are:

  1. Karl Seglem (saxophonist from Norway, mixing traditional Norwegian folk music with jazz)
  2. Art VanDamme (an American accordion player who worked with many French musicians)
  3. Ben Webster (a well-known tenor saxophonist - not so marginalized - first featured with Duke Ellington's band)
  4. Astor Piazzolla (bandeneon player from Argentina who combined tango with jazz)
  5. Sivuca (an accordion player from Brazil who combined baion with jazz and pop)
  6. Jack Sheldon (an LA trumpet player featured in many film noir movies)
  7. Chuck Berry (a rock icon put into a jazz context, somewhat like zydeco)
  8. Pauline Oliveros (best known as a classical composer and accordionist, but championed by a wider audience)
  9. Carla Bley (a jazz composer who came from experimental origins to now lead her own jazz orchestra; her daughter plays accordion, organ and harmonica in the band)




The Singing Head: Movement IV from the suite Quiet Pride — Rufus REID
     Soloists: Laura Canelo Cohen, Ryan Smith, Cole Peterson, Austin Seybert, Joey Schnoebelen, David Thaker


Round Midnight — Thelonious MONK / arr. Rufus REID
     Soloists: Alexandro Cazares, Toni LeFebvre


Of Regal Patience: A Tribute to A Love Supreme by John Coltrane — Rufus REID
     Soloists: Ryan Smith, Derek VanDenTop, Jarrett Purdy, Joey Schnoebelen, Austin Seybert, Cole Peterson, Dave Thaker, Matt Nicholson


Unlikely Characters: A Suite from Crescendo — John RAPSON

Karl Seglem
     Soloists: Day Beyer, Derek VanDenTop, Matt Nicholson, Jarrett Purdy, Laura Canelo Cohen

Art Van Damme
     Soloists: Toni LeFebvre, Sean Miller, Cole Peterson, Dave Thaker, Ryan Smith

Astor Piazzolla
     Soloist: Day Beyer

Ben Webster
     Soloist: Derek VanDenTop

     Soloists: Day Beyer, Gabriel Sanchez, Joey Schnoebelen, Rayne Dias

Jack Sheldon
     Soloist: Toni LeFebvre

Chuck Berry
     Soloists: Derek VanDenTop, Gabriel Sanchez, Kamal Taluker

Pauline Oliveros
     Soloist: Cole Peterson

Carla Bley
     Soloists: Joey Schnoebelen, Matt Nicholson, Ryan Smith, Gabriel Sanchez, Kamal Taluker

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa–sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact in advance at