CNM Ensemble Concert II

Dec 2, 2018

07:30 PM

Voxman Music Building, Concert Hall

93 East Burlington Street, Iowa City, IA 52240

Save to My Events

      Featuring guest composer Zae Munn


A new work by featured guest composer Zae Munn together with works by composers Laird Addis, David Gompper and John Adams are programmed. Faculty performers will be Christine Rutledge, violist, Courtney Miller, oboist, Volkan Orhon, double bassist, and David Gompper, conductor and pianist. Zae Munn is Professor of Music at Saint Mary's College in South Bend, Indiana where she teaches theory, composition, digital media in music, and orchestration/arranging. She is the Director and Resident Composer of the Summer Composition Intensive at Saint Mary’s College. Zae Munn's work Accord for oboe, viola and piano will be performed by Christine Rutledge, Courtney Miller and David Gompper. David Gompper's recent work, Double Bass Concerto, will be performed by the CNM ensemble with solo bassist Volkan Orhon to whom the work is dedicated. John Adam's Gnarley Buttons for clarinet and chamber ensemble will be performed by the ensemble with solo clarinetist Michael Norsworthy.


Bass Sonata (1958) — Laird ADDIS (1937–2018)
     I. Slow
     II. Quarter = 92
          Volkan Orhon, double bass
          David Gompper, piano

Double Bass Concerto (2018) for double bass and ensemble (world premiere) — David GOMPPER (b.1954)

          Volkan Orhon, double bass soloist
          Daniela Volkovinsky, flute
          Jenna Sehmann, oboe
          Kimberly Cassisa, B-flat clarinet
          Mauricio Silva, bass clarinet
          Shawn Seguin, bassoon
          Katelyn Jahnke Halbert, horn
          Bryan Powell, trumpet
          Caleb Lambert, trombone
          David Mercedes, tuba
          Peter Naughton, percussion I
          Travis Newman, percussion II
          Matt Anderson, percussion III
          Pam Weest-Carrasco, harp
          Yixue Zhang, violin I
          Joshua Palazzolo, violin II
          Tyler Hendrickson, viola
          Hui-Hsuan Su, cello
          Will Yager, double bass
          David Gompper, conductor

———  intermission ———

Accord (2017) for oboe, viola and piano (world premiere) — Zae MUNN (b.1953)
    Pensive, yearning
    Pensive with purpose
    Re-entering the groove
    The Grand Accord
          Courtney Miller, oboe
          Christine Rutledge, viola
          David Gompper, piano

Gnarly Buttons (1996) for clarinet and chamber ensemble — John ADAMS (b.1947)
   The Perilous Shore
   Hoedown (Mad Cow)
   Put Your Loving Arms Around Me
          Michael Norsworthy, clarinet soloist
          Jenna Sehmann, English horn
          Shawn Seguin, bassoon
          Caleb Lambert, trombone
          Christopher Bram, guitar
          Zachary Stanton, banjo
          Joshua Palazzolo, mandolin
          Nicha Pimthong, piano I
          Hongwei Cai, piano II
          Yixue Zhang, violin I
          Luciana Hontila, violin II
          Tyler Hendrickson, viola
          Hui-Hsuan Su, cello
          Will Yager, bass
          David Gompper, conductor

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa–sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact in advance at