UI Symphony Orchestra

Sep 30, 2020

07:30 PM

Voxman Music Building, Concert Hall

93 East Burlington Street, Iowa City, IA 52240

Save to My Events

violinist performing in a concert

This concert will be broadcast here: https://music.uiowa.edu/about/live-stream-concert-schedule

View the program by clicking on this link: https://digital.lib.uiowa.edu/islandora/object/ui%3A25019



Sinfonietta pour a Cordes  — Albert Roussel (1871-1933)
Megan Maddaleno, conductor

    I. Allegro molto
   II. Andante
   III. Allegro

Andante Moderato (from String Quartet in G Major)  — Florence Price (1887-1953)
Megan Maddaleno, conductor

   Andante moderato

Theme and Variations for String Orchestra — Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936) 
Simon Zerpa, conductor

   Theme: moderato
   Var I: 
   Var. II: Poco più mosso
   Var. III: Tranquilo
   Var. IV: Moderato scherzando
   Var. V: Allegro moderato
   Var. VI: Allegretto / Tempo I

Lyric for Strings — George Walker (1922-2018)
Simon Zerpa, conductor

Shaker Loops — John Adams (1947-)
Fernanda Lastra, conductor

   I.    Shaking and Trembling
   II.   Hymning Slews
   III.  Loops and Verses
   IV.  A Final Shaking


Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa–sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact in advance at