• Interests
  • Types

Iowa Law Review Symposium 2020

Nov 6, 2020

All Day

130 Byington Road, Iowa City, IA 52242

Save to My Events

Virtual Event

Iowa Law Review Symposium 2020

The Future of Law and Transportation

Presented by: Iowa Law Review & the Iowa Innovation, Business and Law Center

November 5-6, 2020

University of Iowa College of Law, Iowa City, IA

Held virtually via Zoom. Please visit https://ilr.law.uiowa.edu/symposium/   for further details and registration information.


This year’s Symposium will focus on the law, policy, and potential of transportation, an area that is growing increasingly important due to its connection to economic growth, public health, and climate change. The Symposium will, for the first time, convene a diverse group of scholars from multiple fields to discuss and produce scholarship on the past, present, and future of law and transportation from a variety of perspectives, including: land use, state and local government, environmental, administrative, tax, and tort law, as well as allied fields in the social sciences. Pieces from the Symposium will be published in Issue 5 of Vol. 106 of the Iowa Law Review. Information regarding schedules and registration, as well as a link to the livestream of the event, will be announced in due course.  A list of keynote speakers and presenters is listed below.

Keynote Speakers

The Hon. Ray LaHood, 16th U.S. Secretary of Transportation

Beth Osborne, Director, Transportation for America


Professor Deborah Archer, New York University School of Law

Professor Sara Bronin, University of Connecticut School of Law

Professor Vanessa Casado Pérez, Texas A&M University School of Law; Texas                   A&M Department of Agricultural Economics

Professor Pamela Foohey, Indiana University Mauer School of Law

Professor Tara Goddard, Texas A&M University, Department of Landscape                        Architecture & Urban Planning

Professor Janice Griffith, Suffolk University School of Law

Professor Jamila Jefferson-Jones, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law

Professor Randall Johnson, Mississippi College School of Law

Professor Noah Kazis, New York University School of Law

Professor Jonathan Levine, University of Michigan Taubman College of Architecture           & Urban Planning

Professor Audrey McFarlane, University of Baltimore School of Law

Professor Clayton Nall, U.C. Santa Barbara, Department of Political Science

Professor David Prytherch, Miami University, Department of Geography

Professor Daniel Rodriguez, Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

Professor Darien Shanske, U.C. Davis School of Law

Coauthor: Professor Deb Niemeier, University of Maryland Clark School of                   Engineering

Professor Gregory Shill, University of Iowa College of Law

Professor Kenneth Stahl, Chapman University Fowler School of Law


Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa–sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact in advance at

  • Interests
  • Types